Sunflower Seed Cookies

I have started the journey of a gluten-free diet. So far, it hasn’t been too difficult. However, probably the hardest thing to resist is…COOKIES. Cookies are one of my favorite things in the world. They are warm, chewy and gooey! And the good news is, a gluten-free diet does not mean giving up my favorite dessert (: This recipe was one of my first shots at a gluten-free cookie, and it was definitely a winner!

sunflower seed cookies

SUNFLOWER SEED COOKIES

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup sunflower seed meal
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
1/8 teaspoon  baking powder
2 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil (melted)
2 tablespoon honey (or any other liquid sweetener)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
a dash of cinnamon
1/4 cup of vegan chocolate chips (or cacao nibs)…(or both!)

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven 350 degrees.

In a food processor, process 1 heaping cup of raw sunflower seeds until desired texture (meal/flour like).

Combine dry ingredients in  a bowl.

Whisk wet ingredients in a separate bowl, then add to the dry and stir.

Add your chocolate chips or cacao nibs.

Spoon out 1 tablespoon at a time, roll into balls and place on a lined cookie sheet.

Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the bottoms of the cookies start to brown.

ENJOY!

 

These cookies are gluten-free, vegan and do not contain refined sugar. But even if you do not have a restricted diet, anyone can enjoy this recipe! Double the measurements to feed a bigger crowd (: Thanks!

 

—Carly ❤

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Sunflower Seed Cookies

  1. christie says:

    Thanks so much for this recipe. I was making traditional choc chip cookies as a treat for my kids and made these for me. (Though I’m sure my kids will like them once the “real” cookies are gone.) They were so easy to throw together that I could handle both recipes at once. I didn’t feel like I was missing a thing! Fabulous! I pressed mine down so they would look more like a traditional cookie. A great side benefit of real food…I was satisfied with two cookies. With my kids cookies I would have eaten at least 5 and wanted more.

Leave a Reply

